September 7

This morning I decided to go down to Mission Bay to take a paddleboarding lesson. Lauren and I stopped at my favorite breakfast sandwich place and then I headed off for another day of activities and sightseeing. When I got to Surfari they told me that they didn’t actually offer lessons in the water (due to liability or something), but that it wasn’t really necessary anyways. So they rented a board out to me and pointed me toward the beach. That’s it. If that seems intimidating, it’s because it is! Fortunately a group of people were also renting equipment at the same time and they invited me to go with them. It turns out that all (except one) of them were originally from the East Coast! And so I spent my morning with the San Diego East Coasters. They were welcoming and fun. I had a blast spending the day on the water. We paddled across the bay toward an island that was less developed and got to swim for a little bit. My paddleboarding wisdom: The ocean can smell your fear so don’t think too much about it and you won’t fall. Oh, and watch out for boats! On the way back, the water was choppy and it was much more challenging. After a while I realized that by standing, I was creating too much wind resistance so I paddled on my knees instead. By the time I made it back, I felt like I had topped my personal goal for push-ups (so three–ahem, okay, three using my knees). My arms were sore, but I felt very accomplished. I will definitely be paddleboarding again!image

image

image

My only complaint was that, by the end, the last thing I wanted to do was carry my heavy board back to the shop. Fortunately as I was wrestling with the board (which is basically a giant wind screen that drags you around), a good Samaritan came over and asked if I needed help. Derek from Arizona carried my board all the way back to the shop for me! I can’t remember the last time I was so grateful!

To reward myself for my hard work (or Derek’s), I got a delicious tropical smoothie.

image

Next, I headed back to Old Town to explore the historic village and to tour the Whaley House, which according to some (I’m not quite clear on who these people are) is the most haunted house in America.

image

The historical park was set up like an old western village with a general store, blacksmith, soap maker, and other businesses. The shops were all open and selling traditional products.

image

I walked through the park to get to the Whaley House. Parts of the house had been used as a general store and courthouse. Apparently the house stands on the location of the old gallows, where several criminals were executed. One in particular is suspected to be responsible for some of the paranormal activity, Yankee Jim. He was a convicted horse thief and he was hanged from the gallows off the back of a wagon. There were other deaths at the house as well including one of the Whaley daughters who shot herself. I took a number of pictures to see if anything unusual would appear in them, but unfortunately they are all normal. (Except for the creepy dolls in picture two–who would buy those?!)

image

image

image

image

Next, I headed back to look at the Mexican craft shops and the open air markets.

image

image

Then I headed back to Lauren’s place and got Mexican again for dinner. When in Rome, right?

2 thoughts on “September 7

Leave a Reply

