September 17

This morning was quite rainy in Wellington, and it has also started raining now as well! (I pretty much forgot about rain while I was in Southern California!) I decided to make use of the rainy day by applying to jobs. I got quite a few applications sent out and am hoping to hear back soon! I did get one response and I will be going in for an interview tomorrow morning. Wish me luck!

After the tedium of applying to jobs, I decided it was time to get my workout schedule back on track (given that I haven’t run since I left Maine, except for the ill-fated Vail run). I had been planning to go down to the beach in the morning and hadn’t been able to because of the rain. So I decided to combine my run with my beach visit. I ended up running five miles up and down the coast with the most amazing views! The fog was rolling in, partially obscuring the hills, it was just surreal.

image

image

image

image

Needless to say, the views were so distracting that I almost couldn’t tell that I hadn’t run in three weeks (…almost). Something felt kind of weird about listening to my playlist of Blake Shelton and Dierks Bentley while running in New Zealand. Perhaps, I need to research popular Kiwi music.

On the way back, I stopped at one of the many beaches along the way. Most of them were rocky and craggy, like the Maine coast line. It almost felt like being home! Until I noticed the marine life. There were so many opalescent shells, and even some type of purple algae that I had never seen before. (The below picture doesn’t really capture the pinkish/purple hue.)

image

image

image

image

Also, there were these weird lumpy looking things. They felt like particularly squishy jello. (Yes, of course I poked them. It was like the urge to press a button; it couldn’t be suppressed.)

image

The beach had a LOT of sea glass in all different colors. Mostly, the normal greens and browns, but there were a few other colors as well.

image

(For those of you who are wondering, yes, my mom did knit me those lovely finger-less gloves that I’m rocking in the pictures.)

The water was absolutely beautiful, with the waves and the large rocks in the background. There were some that almost looked like shark’s teeth or something. I believe they are called the Siren’s Rocks.

image

image

Tonight, Helen made a fabulous dinner of eggplant stuffed with lamb and tomatoes. As always, it was to die for! We finished it off with Hokey Pokey ice cream, which is a New Zealand specialty. It is vanilla ice cream with some kind (Hokey Pokey, to be specific) of crunchy candy in it. Helen also let me in on an unexpected secret to make it more delicious–high quality olive oil and sea salt. I could’ve died of happiness tonight. Everything was amazing.

Early morning tomorrow, heading off to the interview which is a train ride away!

One thought on “September 17

Leave a Reply

