November 11

Very early this morning one of my roommates woke me up. I wasn’t able to fall back asleep so I decided to watch the sunrise down by the water. I went to a nearby overlook and I had some great views of the ocean and sunrise.

image

image

I still didn’t think I would be able to sleep so I started walking toward the Waitangi Treaty Grounds. When I got up there I decided that I might as well do the Haruru Falls Walk. I had intended to do it anyways because I think the mangrove trees are amazing. I wandered down the track until I got to the boardwalk through the mangroves. It was absolutely amazing.

image

image

image

image

image

image

I made my way back to the hostel so that I would be in time to begin cleaning at ten. Later, I went with Dan and Alex (a newcomer) to El Cafe where I got a huge and delicious breakfast burrito. We met up with some of Dan’s coworkers and their friends for a game of flunky ball (or funkyball, depending on who you ask). This is a German drinking game where you set up a plastic water bottle in the middle of two lines. On each line stands five or so players with a beer in front of them. If your team knocks over the water bottle using a volleyball then they chug their beer until the other team rights the water bottle. Whichever team finishes their drinks first, without breaking any of the other rules, wins. I only played one round, but the others played several. I made my home in the shade of a tree and watched. They seemed to have a great time. Later, I headed back to town and went for a run. Ups and his friend, Bubbles, came to Paihia to meet me and we all went out for pizza. It was delicious!

The restaurant told me that they don’t need me for any more shifts (after I gave my notice) so I’m planning to enjoy socializing and Paihia for the next week and a half or so and then head south.

Leave a Reply

