November 12

My morning was spent cleaning as usual. I wandered around town and went running up to the Treaty Grounds. My most interesting activity for the day was visiting Ups in Kerikeri. I made it to the airport (where he lives) and we decided to go for a swim in Rainbow Falls. We went swimming in the top of the waterfall where there are some rocks that have created a basin. It was cold, but invigorating. We even sat briefly on the rocks at the top of the waterfall. It was an amazing view, looking down over the waterfall.

Afterwards, we headed back toward town where we came across a netball tournament. Ups explained some of the rules to me. The game seems to be a cross between basketball and ultimate frisbee. The hoop has no backboard and you can’t take more than one step once you have the ball, but you also can’t dribble. It was entertaining to watch. After the tournament was over, we played one on one basketball using the netball hoops. All I can say is that I really need a backboard to be even an average basketball player. After we played for a bit, we decided to go find an actual basketball hoop so that I could redeem myself. Even though Ups is definitely stronger, more fit and faster, I felt that I held my own. I only lost by one point! It felt nice to be playing an actual sport, not just running for once!

Leave a Reply

