February 26

I have been a bit lax about my working out since I arrived in Waipu. I was training quite hard and running 10k a day when I first arrived. However, this slowly petered out for a few reasons. First, I have been working more hours at work and running around in the kitchen doesn’t inspire much enthusiasm for running during my time off. Second, I have been regularly exceeding my goal of 10,000 steps a day, so I can’t really be bothered to do more for the sake of weight maintenance. But the third (and by far most important) reason is that I have suffered a spate of bird attacks (I can’t remember if I mentioned this before), during my workouts. I have been the victim of a series of vicious dive-bomb attacks by a massive (serious, google it—it’s ginormous) molly hawk, a on-foot chase by an orange beaked, evil eyed oyster catcher, and an attempted eye plucking by a standard, run of the mill, (deadly and intent on blinding) seagull. So, as you may imagine, in an attempt to save my life and my sight, I have taken a break from running. I have also avoided the beach when I am alone. I find this to be a huge loss because I am living on such a beautiful beach. So, today, I decided to brave The Birds and wander through the dunes. Luckily, I avoided any unfortunate encounters and was able to enjoy some beautiful plant life and vistas.

Leave a Reply

